The Evolution of the Reader

My first attempt at writing my novel, Lucidity, was with a notebook and pen in hand. ( Yeah – totally old school – I know!)  My experience with translating my thoughts from my head to a laptop was minimal.  I needed to feel the pen moving with my thoughts.  However, as I began the creative process of composition, I quickly realized my brain was working much faster then my fingers…and in the end, I could barely read my handwriting.  So the future of my writing skills became iminent…I had to make the switch to writing on the keyboard.  And believe it or not, it’s my “preferred” method of writing now.

With this in mind, I still prefer reading a book in the format of a – well – book.  I can’t get the hang of reading on a screen…or at least, I don’t find nearly as much enjoyment in it.  I like to hold the book, smell the book, dog-ear the pages, and underline particular phrases that grab my attention.  And if a book is a favorite, I enjoy seeing it on my shelf…ready to pick up whenever my heart desires.

Yet, I have to wonder.  What if I “trained” my brain to read on a kindle…or a nook.  After my keyboard versus pen and pencil switch, I must admit it could be possible to let go of yesterday’s ways and grasp tomorrow’s revelations.

I’ve done it with the ipod…gone is my CD collection (except for the three cases I carry in my car).  I’ve done it many times over with taking college courses…good-bye classroom, hello blackboard.  And when is the last time I’ve sent my mom a letter?  Email is so much faster.

Which leads me to this…the younger generations are evolving as readers.  Their brains have adapted to computer screens which encompass all aspects of their lives.  So, when I ponder the question…will ebooks be the wave of the future, I can not rule it out.  It’s simply the natural evolution of the reader.

-Posted by Angela Burke

One response to “The Evolution of the Reader

Leave a Reply

